9-11 March 2022 – at Ircam – Centre Pompidou and online 

In connection with the “Networks-Worlds” exhibition, the 2022 edition of the Vertigo Forum brings together artists, engineers, researchers, and philosophers to debate the multiple facets of the concept of the network in artistic creation. The theme of the network as a structuring concept of form, its technical implementation, as an object of critique or a mode of collaborative production, or even, as the main medium of the work or its dissemination will be a special focus.

On Thursday the 10th, from 5pm to 6:30pm CET Marta Handenawer, from the collective Domestic Data Streamers, will participate in the session Networks and Interactions. She will present several works carried out by Domestic Data Streamers including 730 hours of violence, project supported by MediaFutures in 2021.


Wednesday 9 March 2022 

2pm – 2:30pm: Introduction of the symposium and presentation of the exhibition
2:30pm – 3pm: Keynote Speech: from living to artificial networks
3pm – 4:30pm: The network: the one and the many
5pm – 6:30pm: Collaborative Creation

Thursday 10 March 2022 

2:30pm – 3pm: Keynote speech: read, write, execute: what are the machines that determine thinking?
3pm – 4:30pm: The network during the post-internet era
5pm – 6:30pm: Networks and interactions

Friday 11 March 2022

2:30pm – 4:30pm: Connecting the living
5pm – 7pm: The scope of the network

With: Yacine Aït Kaci (digital artist), Eric Bapteste (researcher), Caroline Bergvall (artist), Frédéric Bevilacqua (director of research), Samuel Bianchini (artist), Claire Bidard (sociologist), Marie-Ange Brayer (curator), Dominique Cardon (sociologist), Andrea Cera (composer), Aric Chen (architect), Yves Citton (author), Emmanuele Coccia (author), Xavier de La Porte (journalist), Simon Denny (artist), Elizabeth Diller (artist), Jean-Paul Fourmentraux (socio-anthropologist), Alexander R. Galloway (author), Marta Handenawer (artist), Wendy Hui Kyong Chun (author), JODI (artist collective), Lonneke Gordijn / Ralph Nauta (designers), Giulia Lorusso (composer), Geert Lovink (theorist), Eric Maestri (composer), Jill Magid (artist), Pierre Musso (researcher), Neri Oxman (architect), Mathieu Potte-Bonneville (philosopher), Jean-Colas Prunier (founder of PocketStudio), Xavier Rey (curator), Rybn.org (artist collective), Elio Suhamy (filmmaker), Jenna Sutela (artist), Mika Tajima (artist), Hugues Vinet (director of IMR Ircam), Olivier Zeitoun (curator).

Full programme